“Visionary” Meeting

Standard

Last night, we had a rather unique meeting. It was different in several ways, the most obvious way, probably, is that we had 8 moms join us. We felt it would be helpful for them to be able to know what we’re planning on teaching their girls, as we are kind of writing our own lessons now instead of using the regular Bright Lights curriculum. It was a real blessing to have you all there; we really appreciated your bits of input and just your attention and enthusiasm about what we’re doing. πŸ™‚

The message was also different than our normal lesson… we gave a general overview of what we’ll be covering, including talking about developing a closer relationship with Christ, and things like how to make good conversation, clothes, having peaceful surroundings, and many more topics.

At this point, we passed out sheets of lined paper, and told them that these were for writing down ideas of the kind of woman they’d like to become.

We then read a “parable” of sorts from the Raising Maidens of Virtue book, which showed the foolishness of trying to copy the world and the joy of living according to God’s plan for us.

We had everyone in the group read a verse of Proverbs 31:10-31, which turned out really neat because there was exactly the right number of people. πŸ™‚ We discussed different things we could learn from these verses, and Miss Andrea shared a great testimony of how Proverbs 31 inspired her to start a home business.

We also discussed different women in the Bible (they came up with Esther, Mary (mother of Jesus), Ruth, and Hannah) and what we could learn from them.

Hannah then read some descriptions of set apart women in history (from the book True Beauty), and after that, we watched the story of the Valenti family in the documentary “Return of the Daughters”.

Next, we wrote a list…

…of attributes that make a godly woman. The other lists are of the different character qualities that women in the Bible displayed. Our group really enjoys making lists like this… we always have lots of ideas. Which makes the lists rather long: when I was done with this list, it was quite overwhelming looking, and I asked, “who here is glad they don’t have to do this alone?” Every hand went up pretty quick. πŸ˜‰ In fact, after I said that, Cady raised her hand and asked if we could pray and ask God to help us with all that, which I thought was a splendid idea. So, we did it. πŸ™‚

Here are most of the girls and some moms. This is when we were making a list, so it’s a little more disorderly than usual. πŸ™‚

After the message was over, we split up into pairs, and each pair picked a verse from Provers 31 and then illustrated it with clay. Some of them memorized their verse, but unfortunately we didn’t have time to say them. 😦 Maybe we’ll do that at another meeting.

Here’s the other table, working away…

Hannie putting some detail on her project. During the activity time, some of the moms helped set up tea, and the rest of them talked to me. πŸ™‚

Tea time!

Well, there you have it. Our meeting last night. It was really, really blessed, and we are very thankful to God for that. It’s so exciting to see Him working in our group! Thank you all for coming!

About Carissa

I am a follower of Jesus Christ and a wife to my wonderful husband. I enjoy knitting, photography, writing, baking, basketball, children, sword fighting, archery and more. I enjoy thinking and sharing about deep things, but I also delight in seeing the funny side of life. I have 7 younger siblings, am homeschooled (even though I technically graduated several years ago, I still consider myself homeschooled... it never really ends.), and go to Grace Bible Church. I blog at carissaserrell.com

9 responses »

  1. You weren’t too far behind me in getting this posted! πŸ˜‰ I had energy last night after the meeting & decided to go ahead & do it. Looks like you had a very full/busy meeting. Sounds like lots of great discussion went on! It also looks/sounds like you had a larger group of girls this week.

    Are you wearing the bracelet I made you in the photograph of you writing on the dry erase board? πŸ™‚ It looks a little familiar. πŸ˜‰

    Love,
    Allison

    • Ah, I see… We were pretty excited too… but not quite to that extent. πŸ˜€ Yes, we did… we went overtime. πŸ˜› But most of the moms were there and they didn’t mind. So that worked out well. πŸ™‚ And yes, we did have a bigger group. πŸ™‚

      Yes, of course I am. I wear it all the time. πŸ˜€

      Love, Carissa

  2. Hi Carissa!
    I’m sorry wordpress didn’t like my pics…but glad that you still got great pictures!

    It was a fun meeting. I’m glad I got to stay πŸ™‚

    Love you,
    Mrs Ursu

    • Hi Mrs. Ursu!

      I was sorry too… oh well, at least we had some, as you said. πŸ™‚

      I’m glad you got to stay too!! πŸ˜€

      Love,
      Carissa

Leave a Comment

