Orderliness Meeting

Standard

So, the message started like any other message (with the possible exception that I don’t normally start with ideas I got from dreams…) –but a minute or so in, with no explanation, I told everyone to stand up, move the chairs, and form a circle on the floor. 😀

The thing I really love about this group is that even though they must have thought I was nuts, they all quietly did as they were told… and then I got out the Big Dutch Blitz cards. 😀 I then explained that in this game, the whole thing is sorting the cards out: making them orderly.  (This was my dad’s idea, by the way… :))

After Big Dutch Blitz, we talked about four main areas to be striving towards orderliness in:

1. Our homes… specifically our “areas. ”

2. Our appearance

3. Our time

4. Our thoughts

We believe in respect at Bright Lights… this is what they do when I walk in. 😀 Hehe, just kidding. We were lined up to practice Psalm 100, and I asked them to salute for the picture.

Here’s one of the groups practicing their verse with actions… we decided to split up into four groups, with each group doing a different verse– and at the end we all say the last verse together.

Another of the groups talking about ideas. 🙂

And that pretty much covers the meeting! The assignment for the next two weeks is:

1. Collect all your belongings that are in someone else’s territory and put them where they belong. (or make a home)

2. Organize your most disorderly area and strive to make it your most orderly area.

3. BONUS: Organize a “neutral” area of your home

4. Read the first two lessons in the set. (“Preparing to be a Wife and Mother” and “Orderliness”)

P.S. Remember: the reason why orderliness is important enough to dedicate a whole meeting to it is that it is an attribute of God… He is a God of order.

About Carissa

I am a follower of Jesus Christ and a wife to my wonderful husband. I enjoy knitting, photography, writing, baking, basketball, children, sword fighting, archery and more. I enjoy thinking and sharing about deep things, but I also delight in seeing the funny side of life. I have 7 younger siblings, am homeschooled (even though I technically graduated several years ago, I still consider myself homeschooled... it never really ends.), and go to Grace Bible Church. I blog at carissaserrell.com

Leave a Comment

