God of Wonders

Standard

IMG_4215

The girls were rather surprised to come in and find the chairs set up like this!

IMG_4213

We watched the DVD “God of Wonders”, which features Dr. Parker. (the girls who knew him would get really excited when he came on…)

IMG_4210

This picture looks a little creepy, but the movie is very good. It focuses on several aspects of who God is, using His creation.  

For since the creation of the world His invisible attributes are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are made, even His eternal power and Godhead, so that they are without excuse, Romans 1:18

We broke the video up into a few sections, and in between we took time to talk about what we were learning. We also praised God for who He is and what He has given us. We also answered a few questions girls had submitted last time, and mentioned that it’s okay to have questions–you just need to actually ask them, and go to the right people (parents, pastors, etc.) and sources. (the Bible and other good books.) If you’d like to borrow God of Wonders, feel free to ask! We have two copies. 🙂

IMG_4217

Tea time!

IMG_4218

IMG_4250

IMG_4274

Nataley told me that it was her birthday in a few days, so we had to sing to her, bright lights style–except she ran away. And hid in the lady’s room. So we all crowded in there and sang to her, first the regular happy birthday song, and then the Bright Lights verse: “Happy birthday to you/be a bright light pure and true/keep shining in all you do/and may God bless you.” 🙂

IMG_4276

These are the books that are stored at church for you all to borrow. If you have questions about any of them, just ask (or check out the recommended resources page!) We also have many more books at our house, so if you want to borrow any let me know. I have marked the books that are available for borrowing in green.

This time, the assignment was to think of a few people you think of as godly, and write down why you think they are godly. Is it because they are loving? Or because they are really serious? Because they read the Bible a lot? Doing this can help you get an idea of how you think about God.

Also, a bonus assignment I thought of recently: Please email me (Duchessdaisy744[at]gmail[dot]com) or comment and tell me what attribute of God you are especially thankful for and excited about right now, and why. Also feel free to send me prayer requests, thoughts, questions, whatever. 🙂

I am praying for you all. I am praying that God will draw you to Himself, and that you will continually grow in love for Him and for each other. I am praying that you will grow in holiness. I am praying that God will direct your steps. I am praying that He will refine you and make you more like Himself. These are hard prayers, and if you would rather I not pray them for you, do tell me. I have prayed them for myself, and it is not an easy road by any means. But it’s worth it, if you are willing.

The next meeting is Monday, April 22nd from 6:00pm to 9:00pm. We will be talking about our identity in Christ. Once you get a glimpse of who God is (And I hope you have. If not, keep seeking Him and reading His word.), the next step is to learn what that means in regards to who you are. And it’s exciting, challenging, life changing. We hope you can come!! 🙂

About Carissa

I am a follower of Jesus Christ and a wife to my wonderful husband. I enjoy knitting, photography, writing, baking, basketball, children, sword fighting, archery and more. I enjoy thinking and sharing about deep things, but I also delight in seeing the funny side of life. I have 7 younger siblings, am homeschooled (even though I technically graduated several years ago, I still consider myself homeschooled... it never really ends.), and go to Grace Bible Church. I blog at carissaserrell.com

Leave a Comment

