“Little” Things

Standard

Lately God has been reminding me of something, and I thought it might be helpful for you all too… and since our Bright Lights group isn’t meeting right now, I thought I’d share it with you all here. 🙂

Recently, I’ve been focusing on serving God right where I am, and also on the importance of being faithful in the little things. It’s not easy–I tend to think that I could serve God more if I was in another country or something like that, and that I want to do big, “important” things. It’s hard to remember, sometimes, that God uses the little things to prepare us for bigger things–and that “little is much when God is in it.” But when I do remember, everything is so much better.

I know that a lot of you probably don’t feel like you can really make much difference where you are–you’re usually just at home, doing school and chores or hanging out with friends. You probably don’t feel like you’re doing anything big, anything world changing. You might even think you’re too young to serve God, too young to make a difference.

But you’re not. The same God that works in older people works in you! In fact, you actually have an advantage over adults in a lot of ways–you have more time, possibly more faith, and people will often be more open to a young girl witnessing to them than to an adult.

I want to tell you a secret: it’s the people who joyfully serve God in the small things, in the things that no one sees, that He often uses most powerfully. “He that is faithful in little will be faithful in much.”

He will build character in you through these things, if you are willing to yield to Him and ask Him to.  We really never know how God will multiply our efforts–even one small act of kindness could change someone’s life. I encourage you to embrace this time of “little things” in your life–and realize that, actually, all of life is made up of little things. Even if God calls you to some kind of ministry that the world would call “important”, it will still be full of the daily things–dishes and laundry and little annoying happenings.

How you respond to those things now will make a great deal of difference in the future, even eternity. And with your friends and siblings, you never know–you could make all the difference in their life by encouraging them when they are down, praying for them when they are struggling, listening when they need someone to talk to, and pointing them to God always.

Don’t be discouraged if you don’t see how God is using you or how He is working. He is and He will, and it is and will be “little” and hard and awesome. ‘Cause He’s just like that.

Just keep pressing on right where you are, keep asking for His help, keep loving Him more, and you’ll see, someday, what it was all about. 🙂 I am praying for you! Feel free to email me or talk to me at church, and let me know how I can help and how I can pray. 🙂

Also–here’s a blog post I wrote a long time ago that talks about this more:

It’s the Little Things that Count

Making your bed. Brushing your teeth. Reading your Bible. Praying. Dishes.

All of those things are so simple… and yet– so difficult. Why? What makes doing the dishes so difficult? What makes those little, daily task so hard? Well, one of the main reasons is that they never get done. The dishes don’t stay washed. You unmake your bed every night. These small things never stay done. It is frustrating. Another reason is that it doesn’t seem to make a difference, and no one really notices.

So why bother? Why even do them? Who cares if your bed is made or not? Will it really make a difference in eternity?? Does it really make that much difference whether or not you read your Bible every day? Maybe it’s all pointless. Maybe we should just quit. That’s it! Let’s just quit!

No, wait. Maybe, just maybe, there is a reason for these seemingly insignificant, definitely hard daily tasks.

What, you ask, is the reason? Why should we do these things?

I’m glad you asked. 😉

The reason, the purpose, of doing small hard things faithfully, is that it builds character (oh, yes, and skills). That’s what it all comes down to.

Small hard things build perseverance, self-control, faithfulness, integrity and patience. And these are the things that really matter, the things that won’t fade away.

Those little things that we do daily are what life is made up of. Think about it: Those people who are amazing at piano, who are fantastic at basketball… they didn’t just wake up one day with those talents. You won’t ever hear people say, “Oh wow! I didn’t know I could play Für Elise!” Or, “Look mom! I’ve never played basketball before, but I keep making this shot from half court!!”

Those things take many small, boring, repetitious actions to develop them into something great.

What we do everyday is who we really are. All those big dreams and goals we have are made up of little things that we must do one at a time, day by day. Books are written one letter at a time. Mountains are climbed one step at a time.

So don’t be discouraged if your life seems made up of little, “unimportant” things. Realize that you can serve God in them. Remember that this is a beautiful chance to build solid, lasting character. Do everything you do to the glory of God.

(By the way, all that “character” really means is your habitual response to everyday things. For instance, if you respond kindly to your little brother most of the time, you are a kind person.)

About Carissa

I am a follower of Jesus Christ and a wife to my wonderful husband. I enjoy knitting, photography, writing, baking, basketball, children, sword fighting, archery and more. I enjoy thinking and sharing about deep things, but I also delight in seeing the funny side of life. I have 7 younger siblings, am homeschooled (even though I technically graduated several years ago, I still consider myself homeschooled... it never really ends.), and go to Grace Bible Church. I blog at carissaserrell.com

2 responses »

Leave a Comment

