A God Story

Standard

This is something that I wrote on the 15th of July (the date is important to the story.)… I thought it might be encouraging for all of you, so here it is. 🙂

I was supposed to get a pretty substantial tax return this year–over $1000. I don’t make much money, so this was a big deal. Well, something or other went wrong, and I didn’t get my check when the others did, back in the beginning of May. I was disappointed, but realized what God was doing: working on my trust in Him. (again.)

So… I waited for awhile. And then I got a letter. Not a check. Which is generally a Bad Sign. Which, of course, it was. The letter was very vague and unhelpful, and so was the website and both phone numbers. Thankfully we have an accountant who actually got a REAL PERSON on the phone for me. It was awesome. Except that I Failed the Test. The one where you have to prove that you are really you, and they ask you ridiculous questions like whether or not you filed a W-2 FIVE YEARS AGO. I don’t know!!

Then I had to go and talk to them in Person. To prove that I am me and that I exist. It was weird. Anyway. So it turned out that I exist, but they still wanted something else. The guy is like, do you have your blah blah blah and I’m like, no, but I have everything else! (except I didn’t say that and also he didn’t say blah blah blah.)

He says, “Okay well then we’ll send you a paper within 30 days.” Not a check. Just some other “helpful” paper. So I’m like, okay fine. I guess I’m just going to be broke for the foreseeable future. God can take care of all that.

Buuuut… Bright Lights is starting up soon (yay!), and I kinda needed money to help pay for all the materials we need to buy. I prayed and asked that He’d provide at least $500 by July 15th (so we’d have enough time for shipping and all.) I thought maybe I’d be given money at church, but I wasn’t.

Hannah and I were talking about needing to buy the lessons and notebooks (on the 15th), and I said, “Let’s order them tomorrow. (She didn’t know I prayed about getting the money by today… I was thinking that maybe something would come in the mail.)

SO, just a little while ago, Emily calls me (I’m at work) and says, “You got your check!!!” (They didn’t even send me the paper.)

Haha!! 😀

See there? God answers prayer! And also He likes keeping you in suspense, and then making everything turn out grand. ‘Cause He’s awesome like that.

Looking forward to seeing you all on August 12th or sooner!!

About Carissa

I am a follower of Jesus Christ and a wife to my wonderful husband. I enjoy knitting, photography, writing, baking, basketball, children, sword fighting, archery and more. I enjoy thinking and sharing about deep things, but I also delight in seeing the funny side of life. I have 7 younger siblings, am homeschooled (even though I technically graduated several years ago, I still consider myself homeschooled... it never really ends.), and go to Grace Bible Church. I blog at carissaserrell.com

2 responses »

  1. That is amazing. It just gave me a little mor hope to stick in there and be patient to see what God has in store.

Leave a Comment

