Strong for the Lord Report

Standard

IMG_7627[1]

We set up the chairs differently this time… we had the entire meeting here around the tables. 🙂

IMG_7636[1]

Getting ready to sing “Father Abraham.” Haha… we have a group of girls that loves this song, and then others who aren’t so keen on it. Oh well. It does get people more alert and happy. 😀

IMG_7640

Brittany and Jessica singing…

IMG_7641

We passed out 26 notebooks last night!!

IMG_7646

After I told a story of how God used a 13 year old girl to start a Bible distributing organization that is still going on, we made a list of some attitudes and things that the current culture expects of young ladies… Quite the contrast. We then talked about how we have very different expectations here at Bright Lights. 🙂

IMG_7650

One thing I talked about quite a bit is how we are either going toward God or away from God in our day-to-day lives.

IMG_7649

There are two ways we move away from God–either we deliberately walk away, or we just sort of drift. On the other hand, it takes conscious effort and God’s grace working in us to move closer to God.

IMG_7651

Don’t remember what I was talking about here, but it must have been intense. 😛 One thing I’d like to highlight here is the story of Mary, mother of Jesus. She is a great example of a young lady whose heart was toward God. Reading Luke 1:46-55, we see that she knew who God was and what He is like, and she worshiped Him. This led to humility (which led to God’s favor), obedience, and trust in God. The best way to move closer to God is to focus on Him… to worship and thank and love Him for who He is and what He has done for us.

IMG_7654

Listening girls… Suki and Nichole.

IMG_7656

It is so important that we choose to move towards God in our heart and our actions now in our youth–for many reasons, but I mentioned 3 in particular: 1. God is… God. He made you, He knows what is best. He is good. 2. This path will ultimately lead to blessing—the other path only leads to death. 3. Youth is limited, powerful, and foundational.

IMG_7662

Hannah talked to us about Galatians 6:7-8: Do not be deceived, God is not mocked; for whatever a man sows, that he will also reap.For he who sows to his flesh will of the flesh reap corruption, but he who sows to the Spirit will of the Spirit reap everlasting life. After Hannah shared, Nichole and Elisa and I shared testimonies of how God has worked in our lives in bringing us closer to Himself, and in making choices that are different from the world around us.

IMG_7667

At the end, I talked about “normal” (the Styrofoam cup)  vs. “Holy” (represented by the tea cup)–how being holy is about being set apart unto God, being special, called out. I read 2 Corinthians 6:16-7:1

16 And what agreement has the temple of God with idols? For you are the temple of the living God. As God has said:

“I will dwell in them
And walk among them.
I will be their God,
And they shall be My people.”

17 Therefore

“Come out from among them
And be separate, says the Lord.
Do not touch what is unclean,
And I will receive you.”
18 “I will be a Father to you,
And you shall be My sons and daughters,
Says the Lord Almighty.”

7 Therefore, having these promises, beloved, let us cleanse ourselves from all filthiness of the flesh and spirit, perfecting holiness in the fear of God.

And also this:

“In every generation there are a few young women that discover passionate, daily, unhindered intimacy with their true Prince, Jesus Christ. Just like the princesses in our childhood fairy tales, once they meet this Prince and realize His incredible love for them, they willingly give up everything else to follow Him to the ends of the earth. They live a life with their Prince that is utterly different from the world around them. They are radiant. They are confident. They are fulfilled. They possess a truly authentic beauty that flows from within. They are world changers. They are set apart in complete and utter devotion to their Prince. And they stand out from among all other young women like a lily among thorns.” ~Leslie Ludy

I left them with the question, “Will you be one of the few?” We then had a time to pray about it…

We decorated our notebooks, did another activity, and then it was time for snack!

IMG_7676

IMG_7677

IMG_7678

We had 34 girls at this meeting–by far our largest attendance! Many were returning from last year, a few coming back after a long absence, and quite a few new girls as well! 🙂

IMG_7680

Overall, it was a great evening! We are thankful to God for bringing every girl that was there, and we look forward to watching as He works in each one of our lives. 🙂 Thank you to Sydney T. for taking pictures for me, and Stephaney K. for bringing snack!!

During the next two weeks, please make sure to read your lesson for this meeting (“Being Strong for the Lord in Your Youth”) and talk about it together with your parents. Have them sign the line on the back once you have talked about it. Remember that the way we move toward God is by learning more about Him and praising Him for it… and out of that, we obey Him.

Looking forward to seeing you at the next meeting! 🙂 This one will start at 6:00 (back to normal–all the other meetings will start at 6:00 as well), and will be on Monday, the 26th of August.

About Carissa

I am a follower of Jesus Christ and a wife to my wonderful husband. I enjoy knitting, photography, writing, baking, basketball, children, sword fighting, archery and more. I enjoy thinking and sharing about deep things, but I also delight in seeing the funny side of life. I have 7 younger siblings, am homeschooled (even though I technically graduated several years ago, I still consider myself homeschooled... it never really ends.), and go to Grace Bible Church. I blog at carissaserrell.com

8 responses »

  1. I am so happy my pictures turned out alright! Sorry they were a bit blurry though.
    I am so sad that I will miss the next meeting, I had such an amazing night. 😦
    -Sydney T

    • They were great! Oh, that’s not your fault, it is the lighting. 😛 I have the same problem.

      I know!! I’m sad about that too. 😦 Oh well… at least you’re only missing one! I’m glad you had a great time. 🙂

  2. Hi Carissa,
    Thank you for posting about the meeting! I like to hear the messages! And see all the pictures!
    They are so encouraging to follow God and draw near to Him! I am excited to see what The Lord will do in each of our lives as we draw closer to Him!
    May The Lord our Lord bless you and Hannah as you prepare you hearts and lives to lead in the example of being Radiant in your Youth!
    I Love you both very much! 😊Love, Mama

Leave a Comment

