Fear of the Lord Meeting

Standard

I am sorry it has taken me so long to get this blog post up… here it is, finally!

I also wanted to kind of give a disclaimer… this topic is rather difficult to understand (hence the meeting about understanding it) and I am not certain I have it all figured out. I am also not sure how it came across when I was teaching, so I apologize for any confusion it may have caused in your homes. However, it’s a really good discussion, so hopefully you had some good talks about it!

2013 2959

Singing! Zoey is very enthusiastic. 😀

2013 2975

I asked if they had any stories of times they were really scared, and quite a few hands went up!

2013 2990

God is WAY scarier than the most terrifying thing you could imagine. He is huge. He is burningly bright. He is all powerful. He is perfect. He is just. He is holy.

How do I know this? Listen to how people responded in the Bible when they got a glimpse of God:

John:

12 Then I turned to see the voice that spoke with me. And having turned I saw seven golden lampstands, 13 and in the midst of the seven lampstands One like the Son of Man, clothed with a garment down to the feet and girded about the chest with a golden band. 14 His head and hair were white like wool, as white as snow, and His eyes like a flame of fire; 15 His feet were like fine brass, as if refined in a furnace, and His voice as the sound of many waters; 16 He had in His right hand seven stars, out of His mouth went a sharp two-edged sword, and His countenance was like the sun shining in its strength. 17 And when I saw Him, I fell at His feet as dead

_______

Isaiah:

In the year that King Uzziah died, I saw the Lord sitting on a throne, high and lifted up, and the train of His robe filled the temple. 2 Above it stood seraphim; each one had six wings: with two he covered his face, with two he covered his feet, and with two he flew. 3 And one cried to another and said:

“Holy, holy, holy is the Lord of hosts;

The whole earth is full of His glory!”

4 And the posts of the door were shaken by the voice of him who cried out, and the house was filled with smoke.

5 So I said:

“Woe is me, for I am undone!

Because I am a man of unclean lips,

And I dwell in the midst of a people of unclean lips;

For my eyes have seen the King,

The Lord of hosts.”

________

Abram:

When Abram was ninety-nine years old, the Lord appeared to Abram and said to him, “I am Almighty God; walk before Me and be blameless. 2 And I will make My covenant between Me and you, and will multiply you exceedingly.” 3 Then Abram fell on his face,

__________

Ezekiel:

And above the firmament over their heads was the likeness of a throne, in appearance like a sapphire stone; on the likeness of the throne was a likeness with the appearance of a man high above it. 27 Also from the appearance of His waist and upward I saw, as it were, the color of amber with the appearance of fire all around within it; and from the appearance of His waist and downward I saw, as it were, the appearance of fire with brightness all around. 28 Like the appearance of a rainbow in a cloud on a rainy day, so was the appearance of the brightness all around it. This was the appearance of the likeness of the glory of the Lord.

So when I saw it, I fell on my face, and I heard a voice of One speaking.

____________

Gideon:

21 Then the Angel of the Lord put out the end of the staff that was in His hand, and touched the meat and the unleavened bread; and fire rose out of the rock and consumed the meat and the unleavened bread. And the Angel of the Lord departed out of his sight.

22 Now Gideon perceived that He was the Angel of the Lord. So Gideon said, “Alas, O Lord God! For I have seen the Angel of the Lord face to face.”

2013 2993

But what happened next?? This is where it gets really crazy.

John:

But He laid His right hand on me, saying to me, “Do not be afraid; I am the First and the Last. 18 I am He who lives, and was dead, and behold, I am alive forevermore. Amen. And I have the keys of Hades and of Death. Revelation 1

____________

Isaiah:

6 Then one of the seraphim flew to me, having in his hand a live coal which he had taken with the tongs from the altar. 7 And he touched my mouth with it, and said:

“Behold, this has touched your lips;

Your iniquity is taken away,

And your sin purged.”

8 Also I heard the voice of the Lord, saying:

“Whom shall I send,

And who will go for Us?”

Then I said, “Here am I! Send me.”

Isaiah 6

________

Abram:

and God talked with him, saying: 4 “As for Me, behold, My covenant is with you, and you shall be a father of many nations. 5 No longer shall your name be called Abram, but your name shall be Abraham; for I have made you a father of many nations. 6 I will make you exceedingly fruitful; and I will make nations of you, and kings shall come from you. 7 And I will establish My covenant between Me and you and your descendants after you in their generations, for an everlasting covenant, to be God to you and your descendants after you. 8 Also I give to you and your descendants after you the land in which you are a stranger, all the land of Canaan, as an everlasting possession; and I will be their God.”

______

Ezekiel:

And He said to me, “Son of man, stand on your feet, and I will speak to you.” 2 Then the Spirit entered me when He spoke to me, and set me on my feet; and I heard Him who spoke to me. 3 And He said to me: “Son of man, I am sending you to the children of Israel, to a rebellious nation that has rebelled against Me; they and their fathers have transgressed against Me to this very day. 4 For they are impudent and stubborn children. I am sending you to them, and you shall say to them, ‘Thus says the Lord God.’ 5 As for them, whether they hear or whether they refuse—for they are a rebellious house—yet they will know that a prophet has been among them.

6 “And you, son of man, do not be afraid of them nor be afraid of their words, though briers and thorns are with you and you dwell among scorpions; do not be afraid of their words or dismayed by their looks, though they are a rebellious house.

_______

Gideon:

Then the Lord said to him, “Peace be with you; do not fear, you shall not die.” 24 So Gideon built an altar there to the Lord, and called it The-Lord-Is-Peace

So it turns out that when we are humble before God, and when we honor Him as God in fear, He is on our side and tells us NOT to be afriad!

What did Jesus say about the Fear of the God?

Luke 12:4-7

4 “And I say to you, My friends, do not be afraid of those who kill the body, and after that have no more that they can do. 5 But I will show you whom you should fear: Fear Him who, after He has killed, has power to cast into hell; yes, I say to you, fear Him!

6 “Are not five sparrows sold for two copper coins?[a] And not one of them is forgotten before God. 7 But the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Do not fear therefore; you are of more value than many sparrows.

“The greatness of God rouses fear within us, but His goodness encourages us not to be afraid of Him. To fear and not be afraid – that is the paradox of faith.” – A.W. Tozer.

Fear of God draws you to God. It makes you fearless about other things. It causes you to think of what God thinks instead of what people think.

To fear God means to live in awe, reverence and submission to Him.

It means fearing His discipline of sin and thus avoiding sin.

The fear of the Lord eclipses all our other fears–most particularly, our fear of man.

Believers are not to be scared of God. We have no reason to be scared of Him. We have His promise that nothing can separate us from His love (Romans 8:38-39). We have His promise that He will never leave us or forsake us (Hebrews 13:5). Fearing God means having such a reverence for Him that it has a great impact on the way we live our lives. The fear of God is respecting Him, obeying Him, submitting to His discipline, and worshiping Him in awe.

2013 3000

Then it was time for a sword drill!

2013 3003

2013 3009

These girls are really fast!

2013 3013

Job 28: 28

Proverbs 14:27

Proverbs 14:26

Proverbs 8:13

Proverbs 9:23

Proverbs 16:6

Proverbs 22:4

Psalm 103:11
Acts 9:31

After the message part, we split into two groups for further discussion…

2013 3027

2013 3047

(I just like the expressions here… :))

2013 3083

This is always a good thing to see. 🙂

2013 3084

And then it was time for snack! Many thanks to Stephaney for providing it yet again! 🙂

2013 3094

Thank you also to Courtney S. for taking pictures! You did an excellent job. 🙂

2013 3095

See you all in one week!! (Monday the 28th) The next meeting is very special; you won’t want to miss it. 🙂

About Carissa

I am a follower of Jesus Christ and a wife to my wonderful husband. I enjoy knitting, photography, writing, baking, basketball, children, sword fighting, archery and more. I enjoy thinking and sharing about deep things, but I also delight in seeing the funny side of life. I have 7 younger siblings, am homeschooled (even though I technically graduated several years ago, I still consider myself homeschooled... it never really ends.), and go to Grace Bible Church. I blog at carissaserrell.com

8 responses »

  1. Did anyone notice that in the very first picture my shirt is blue!? That may be just a glitch on this computer or you’re camera, but that shirt is actually a dark purple! I’m confused.

Leave a Comment

