Update Finally!

Standard

Hi Everyone,

I’m sorry it has been so long since I’ve posted here. We’ve still been meeting regularly and all is well, I just haven’t been at a desktop computer much these days and there’s been a lot going on.

We’ve talked about loving God, the dangers of idolatry, what I learned/did on my trip to Central America, and the meeting we had last night was about loving each other.

Our theme verses for the evening (and the next few meetings and hopefully our lives) were:

A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another; as I have loved you, that you also love one another. By this all will know that you are My disciples, if you have love for one another.” John 13:34-35

We spent a good chunk of the meeting singing together–worshiping God and being reminded of who He is and what our part is. (and enjoying our little fun things we do for quite a few of the songs–worship is not boring.)

We also prayed for a while, and then had a short message about loving each other and love languages. After that, we got to put it into practice straight away in a practical way– spending time listening and talking to each other. (we’re girls… haha. I mentioned that a big way to show love is to listen, and there were a lot of emphatic nods.)

That’s kind of what our vision is for Bright Lights this year: Lots of focus on worship, prayer, and actually obeying the Bible–specifically in the area of love for God and each other. We’re excited. I hope you are too!!

The next meeting is Monday, May 12th.

We will be taking the month of July off, and possibly June or August. We will let you know for sure as soon as we know.

Thank you all for coming, participating, and praying!

About Carissa

I am a follower of Jesus Christ and a wife to my wonderful husband. I enjoy knitting, photography, writing, baking, basketball, children, sword fighting, archery and more. I enjoy thinking and sharing about deep things, but I also delight in seeing the funny side of life. I have 7 younger siblings, am homeschooled (even though I technically graduated several years ago, I still consider myself homeschooled... it never really ends.), and go to Grace Bible Church. I blog at carissaserrell.com

Leave a Comment

